What is BLS Certification

What is BLS Certification?

When a person has a BLS certification, it demonstrates that they have undergone the necessary training in basic life support techniques to qualify for a BLS certification from the American Heart Association. Certification lasts for two years before the holder has to undergo renewal for BLS certification. Possession of a BLS certification indicates that an individual has undergone training in:

  • Infant, child and adult CPR
  • Choking for all ages, both conscious and unconscious
  • Automated External Defibrillator (AED) use
  • CPR emergencies and special resuscitation situations
  • Bag valve masks, breathing barriers and 2 rescuer CPR
Who Needs BLS Certification

Training toward a BLS certification is aimed at anyone who comes into contact with the general public on a regular basis and who might find themselves suddenly in a position where someone near them has symptoms of cardiac arrest or other emergency resuscitation situation.

What is a BLS and ACLS Certification

A combined certification indicates that an individual has undergone training for BLS certification in addition to certification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) training. Topics covered in ACLS classes include:

  • Review of BLS
  • Recognizing and managing early cardiac or respiratory arrest
  • How to both lead and support a resuscitation team
  • Airway management
  • ACLS drugs
What are BLS and ACLS Certification Renewal?

BLS certification renewal is about demonstrating that an individual has undergone the necessary training within the past two years. Guidelines change and when the life of the public is in your hands, you need to have the most up to date training available.

What are the Main Goals of BLS Certification from the American Heart Association?

The three aims of BLS certification are:

  1. Circulation – providing a sufficient blood supply to support the delivery of oxygen to the organs and elimination of metabolic waste.
  2. Airway – establishing and maintaining a clear airway for gas exchange between the tissues and the atmosphere
  3. Breathing – promoting the inflation and deflation of the lungs via the airway
Chain of Survival and BLS Certification

Chain of survival refers to:

  • Immediate recognition of cardiac arrest and activation of the emergency response system – Realizing that a cardiac emergency is in progress and notifying the emergency services.
  • Early CPR with an emphasis on chest compressions – In order to be effective, CPR needs to be instigated immediately, by the nearest knowledgeable bystander if necessary.
  • Rapid defibrillation – Requires ACLS certification.
  • Early advanced life support – the best chance of success is for two of the rescuers to have ACLS certification.
  • Integrated post-cardiac arrest care – including therapeutic hypothermia and ventilation optimization.

If you or a loved one were in a cardiac emergency, wouldn’t you want someone nearby with BLS certification? Contact us today at SureFire CPR for information about the classes we offer for a BLS certification.


Know exactly what to do when tragedy strikes!

Get the Free Ultimate CPR Guide

Your info will never be passed on to third parties. Read our privacy party to learn how we keep your data safe.